wordfringe 2008 Event CalendarPerformersVenue MapsDownloadsReviews

Alison Flett
Chris Hannan
Suzy Enoch
Ian Watt
Julie Ellen
Ian Spink
Sally Evans
Eddie Gibbons
Michelle Noteboom
Milton Balgoni


Festival of New Writing in Aberdeen and North-East Scotland

1st – 29th May 2008

Now an established part of the festival calendar in Aberdeen and North-East Scotland, wordfringe shines a spotlight once again on the incredible range of literary talent we have in our midst, complemented by invited guests from further afield.

The programme features a vibrant mix of new and promising writers at the beginning of their careers appearing alongside established writers working in innovative contexts.

This year we place a special emphasis on the writers' groups that nurture talents both new and established, with no less than five North-East groups launching anthologies of their work at wordfringe 2008 events. We also remember the series of Writers in Residence employed by Banff & Buchan and Aberdeenshire Councils during the 1990s with an event that brings together all four writers who held this post.

Indeed, wordfringe expands its presence in Aberdeenshire this year, with some of our most innovative events amongst the twelve taking place in venues around the Shire.

City venues are not forgotten of course, and a highlight amongst our Aberdeen events will be one bringing four poets from Paris, a city that has a long-established English-language poetry scene.

Other events will feature the widest range of poetry, fiction and storytelling, leavened with music, dance and visual images, as well as workshop events for the writers amongst us to exercise and brush up our techniques.

Then we have new drama from our resident theatre company Wordfringe Festival Players, a pair of comedy showcase events from North-East agency Comedy Capers, and the first ever Poetry Slam at wordfringe.

Browse the Event Calendar, the list of performers or the venue maps, and be adventurous — visit venues near and far and you will be sure to be stimulated and entertained by some of the most exciting writers around.

Keep an eye on this website for the latest wordfringe news.

wordfringe 2008 is brought to you by:-

  • Festival Director: Haworth Hodgkinson
  • Design & Artwork: Shade Wizard
  • Publicity & Advertising: Douglas W. Gray, Keith Murray, Judy Taylor, Cal Wallace
  • Event & Venue Coordinators: Alice Brooks, Moira Brown, Sheila Davis, Becka Gauld, Eddie Gibbons, Paula Gibson, Haworth Hodgkinson, Wendy Ivers, Bill Kelly, Pauline de Koning, Phyll McBain, Barbara Mathie, Virginia Mayes-Wright, Mark Pithie, Helen Posgate, Max Roach, Gerard Rochford, Maureen Ross, Gráinne Smith, John Smith, Judy Taylor, Martin Walsh, Rapunzel Wizard, Colin Youngson
  • Wordfringe Committee: Haworth Hodgkinson (chair), Martin Walsh (co-chair), Gerard Rochford (secretary), Shade Wizard (treasurer), Moira Brown, Keith Murray, Mark Pithie, Linda Smith, Judy Taylor, Rapunzel Wizard

wordfringe 2008 acknowledges the support of:-

Ian Crockatt
Sheila Templeton
Ian Blake
Jonathan Wonham
Tom Bryan
Nick Hennessey
Morelle Smith
Angus Dunn
Ash Dickinson
Anne Ryland


wordfringe 2008 Event CalendarPerformersVenue MapsDownloadsReviews

Terms and Conditions • Website © HH0 2006–2016